Historical Association of South Jefferson

East Rodman (Whitesville)
Home
About Us
Contact Us
Membership
Publications
The Sixtowns
Town of Adams
Town of Ellisburg
Town of Henderson
Town of Lorraine
Town of Rodman
Town of Worth
Gallou & Stony Islands

East Rodman (also known as Whitesville) is a small hamlet on Sandy Creek, 5 miles east of Rodman village, near the eastern line of the town. It was 1st settled in 1802 by Thomas White. In 1803 he built a gristmill here, the 1st in the town. Daniel Todd built a tannery in 1806 and also made shoes, having the 1st shop in the town. Peter Yendes built a distillery. Taverns were kept by Peter Yendes, Archibald Jones & others. Archibald Jones was the 1st blacksmith. A post office was established here in 1821 and named East Rodman.

Businesses in East Rodman in 1866-67:
(from the Jefferson county Business Directory for 1866-67)
Blacksmith - Russell Merrill
Cheesefactory - Converse S. Wilson
Cooper - Russell Green
General Merchant - M.S. Wait
Gristmill - Jacob V. Buskirk
Hotels - D.C. Wait
Sawmills - Jacob V. Buskirk
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Copyright 2025 by the Historical Association of South Jefferson. All rights reserved.