The Historical Association of South Jefferson was organized on February 26, 1973, by
Frank & Marian Steele, to help preserve the history of the southern towns of Jefferson County. We acquired the former
Farmers National Bank Building at 9 East Church Street on November 13, 1975. The building was built in 1865 as the Hungerford
National Bank. This building housed the main portion of the museum, plus office and research areas from 1975 to 2003. The
annex behind the museum contains farm and marine displays. (We sold these 2 buildings in 2004).
We acquired the former Adams Grange Hall, located at 9 Grange Avenue, on October
8, 1976. Built in 1900 this building is used for craft classes and meetings. Across the street, at 8 Grange Ave.,
is the former Fraser Brothers Machine Shop where marine engines, and later fire engine bodies, were made. This building
was acquired in the summer of 1980 and is used for storage.
On December 1, 1984 we acquired the former Presbyterian Church building at 31-33 East Church
Street. The sanctuary was built in 1828 and the sessions room, which today contains a dining room and kitchen, in 1882. This
building is used for fund-rasiers and meetings.
On April 10, 2003 Mrs. Marian Haynes (Ripley)
Chalmers Steele left the Historical Association her house at 29 E. Church Street. The 25+ room, brick house was built in 1852
and has been in the Ripley Family for 120 years, since 1883. Following a year of renovations the Ripley House Museum officially
opened on August 7 & 8, 2004.
In March 2011 we received a donation from Vivian Brown, the originally Aircraft Spotters Building built
by her father, Howard Brown, in 1941 and used by the Town of Rodman during World War 2.